How to Apply for EWS Certificate


EWS Certificate: In the intricate landscape of Indian academia and governmental employment, challenges abound, especially in navigating the convoluted reservation systems. Yet, for those ensconced within the Economically Weaker Section (EWS) of the general category, a pivotal instrument holds the power to revolutionize their prospects. This instrument, none other than the EWS Certificate, acts as a beacon, illuminating pathways to enhanced opportunities. Within the confines of this discourse, our endeavor is to unravel the essence of the EWS certificate, elucidating its significance, procedural intricacies, manifold benefits, indispensable document requisites, and the accompanying fee structure.

What is an EWS Certificate?

Introduced in 2019, the EWS certificate serves as an authoritative credential pinpointing individuals within the unreserved category grappling with financial adversity. This document serves as a litmus test for eligibility, validating a 10% reservation quota in both government employments and educational establishments across India, contingent upon an individual’s financial circumstances. At its core, this initiative endeavors to bridge the socio-economic chasm entrenched within the general category, extending vital assistance to those necessitating financial support or relaxation amidst the pursuit of higher education and governmental vocations.

CertificateEWS certificate
Name of the lawEconomic Weaker Section Bill
Name of Service PortalNational Government Service Portal
Application modeOnline and offline
Certificate renewalOne year

Advantages of Holding an EWS Certificate | Benefits of EWS Certificate

  • Augmented Education Access: Seize your rightful position in esteemed educational institutions, benefitting from a 10% reservation in both undergraduate and postgraduate programs.
  • Expanded Employment Avenues: Fulfill your aspirations of securing coveted government positions across diverse central and state departments, public sector entities, and autonomous establishments, leveraging the reservation advantage.
  • Financial Support: Tap into a spectrum of scholarships and bespoke financial aid initiatives tailored explicitly for students falling within the EWS category, easing the burden of educational expenses.
  • Empowerment and Societal Mobility: Empower individuals hailing from economically marginalized backgrounds to engage in fair competition and realize their academic and vocational aspirations on equitable terms.

Who is Eligible to Apply for an EWS Certificate?

Individuals falling under the Economically Weaker Section (EWS) category in India may qualify for the myriad benefits outlined above. But how does one ascertain eligibility for an EWS certificate? Let’s delve into the eligibility criteria:

  • You must belong to the unreserved category, known as General or UR, signifying exclusion from SC, ST, OBC, or any other reservation categories.
  • Your family’s gross annual income should not surpass ₹8 lakhs, as per the preceding financial year, encompassing earnings from various sources such as salaries, agriculture, and business endeavors.
  • In urban locales, your family must not possess a residential plot exceeding 200 square yards.
  • Conversely, in rural settings, your family’s ownership of agricultural land should not exceed 5 acres.
  • Eligibility extends to individuals from households solely headed by women.
  • If your primary income stems from manual labor across any domain.
  • Individuals enlisted under the National Rural Employment Guarantee Act (NREGA) also qualify.
  • Moreover, if both your parents’ educational qualifications do not surpass higher secondary schooling, you meet the eligibility criteria.

Other Important Points to Remember

  • Indian citizenship is a fundamental prerequisite.
  • The income of your parents or spouse who are government employees is factored into your family income assessment.
  • There exists no age ceiling; however, applicants must be at least 18 years old.

These criteria represent the general eligibility standards outlined by the Government of India. Specific mandates may vary contingent upon the jurisdiction of each state and the particular benefits sought. For the most current and precise details, always consult the official guidelines.

How to Apply for a EWS Certificate

The process of applying for an EWS certificate may vary slightly depending on your state, offering both online and offline avenues.

Online Application:

  1. Begin by creating an account or registering on the official website of your state authority.
  2. Navigate to the department handling EWS certificates, typically the revenue department.
  3. Complete the online application form with pertinent details, including your income and personal information.
  4. Scan and upload the requisite documents onto the portal.
  5. Remit the nominal application fee, the amount of which varies by state.
  6. Submit your application and download the receipt for your records.

Offline Application:

  1. Visit the revenue department or the designated issuing authority.
  2. Obtain the application form on-site or download and print it from the official website.
  3. Fill out the form comprehensively, ensuring all necessary details are provided.
  4. Make the required payment and obtain a receipt as proof.

Upon submission, your application undergoes processing. If approved, you will receive a notification via your registered mobile number or email address. Typically, this process takes approximately 21 days. Upon approval, you can download the EWS certificate directly from the portal and print it for future reference.

Required Documents for EWS Certificate

Securing approval for your application necessitates the submission of the following documents. Nonetheless, it’s imperative to note that document requirements may vary based on the state of application:

  • Duly filled and signed application form.
  • Recent passport-sized photographs.
  • Identity proofs such as Aadhaar card, voter ID, or PAN card.
  • Income certificates of family members.
  • Documentation affirming asset ownership, including land records and property details.
  • Bank account statements reflecting financial transactions.
  • Domicile certificate or an official document validating your residency within the state.
  • Self-declaration or affidavit attesting to specific details.
  • Educational certificates of family members, though this is optional.

Application Fees

The cost of applying for an EWS certificate typically falls within the range of ₹50 to ₹100, varying depending on your state. For precise fee details, it is advisable to refer to the official portal or contact the Tehsildar office.


The EWS certificate stands as a formidable asset, capable of uplifting individuals hailing from economically challenged backgrounds within the general category. Armed with insights into its advantages, eligibility prerequisites, and application procedures, one can pave the way for educational and vocational progression. Therefore, seize the opportunity to obtain your EWS certificate and embark on a journey to unlock your fullest potential.

Please bear in mind that the information provided herein serves as a general overview. For the most up-to-date and accurate details regarding EWS certificate application processes and requirements, it is advisable to consult your state government’s official portal or the Tehsildar office.

Read More Article here

Leave a comment